Shortening Days of Summer

Like my cousin, Laura, I hate the first day of summer.  It means that the days are getting shorter.  It is nothing but downhill from here.     I love sunshine and the length of the day does unfortunately affect me.  I am not crazy about cold, but I miss sunshine more.

Almost immediately I notice the lost minutes in the morning.  Being an early riser, I often watch the sun come over the east horizon.   It isn’t long and soon I am getting up before the sun rises.  Then soon the sun isn’t up in time to allow me to sit on the deck with that first cup of tea and listen to the sounds of the world wakening.

Being a chicken keeper I soon notice the lost of evening light.   It isn’t soon and I am able to put the birds away before 10 o’clock.  My ladies love to be out as long as there is sunlight and twilight lasts long this long into the night.    On the longest days, I am ready to go to bed long before the girls are.   No more fighting with them.

Each day I feel the minutes slipping away.   They days are a little warmer, but the sun reminds me that time is short.  Enjoy life.

 

 

By Diana @ Looking Out the Window Posted in Seasons