Unexpected Goodbye

2017-01-28-002-1024x683

A page from my art journal that I created when looking for answers this last week.

Most people spend more waking hours with their co-workers than their family.   Your co-workers become an extended family.   If you are really lucky some of your co-workers become your friends. I had a co-worker who was one-of-kind guy.   Our careers ran parallel paths in so many ways that made us click and become more than co-workers.   We were friends. Unfortunately last week I lost my friend to suicide.

Montana has a rampant problem with suicide. We are often number one or two in the nation per capita when looking at our suicide rates. It is a sad reality to know so many families personally affected by suicide. For RangerSir and I it is not people we know second or third hand that have been impacted by this crisis.     It is people who we know as a member of our inner circle.   In January we attended two funerals for victims of suicide.     It has left us stunned and reeling seeking to understand.      Something we may never do.

Suicide affects young and old alike.   If reaches across gender and economics. It is a problem in rural and our cities.   Suicide leaves behind family and friends who wonder what more they could have or should have done.   There are no answers. Only holes in lives about what was possible that will not be.

I beg of you if it is a moment of great despair or if it is a long battle with mental health, please seek help.   It may not feel like there is anyone out there who cares, but there is.   It may not feel like there is anyone you can share your burden with, but there is.   It may feel like there is no way out, but there is.   Call out for help.   Ask for help.   Accept the offer of help.   The world is a better place because you are in it.

5 comments on “Unexpected Goodbye

  1. My deepest condolences for the loss of your friend. May your plea for anyone to seek help if needed make a difference in someone’s life some day.

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. It must be so painful to think that maybe there was something you could have done. Thank you for encouraging people to ask for help before it is too late. I liked your page in the art journal. Wishing you peace.

  3. I agree it is a very serious problem and Montana does not need the distinction of the highest suicide rate in the nation. Depression that goes unrecognized is often a problem that does not get enough attention as a way to prevent suicide…but if we could make treatment more available and accessible it would be a strong step in the right direction.

  4. I lost my brother to suicide 11 years ago. It is truly something we end up surviving as the loved ones. My heart is with you, the families, and your whole community. Much love to all of you.

  5. I am so very sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. How sad. I can’t help but wonder, too, why the suicide rate is so high there? Is it the isolation? I don’t know, just guessing. Where my son lived in WY, drug and alcohol abuse was a serious problem, and he seemed to think a lot of it was due to the isolation many people often felt. It’s hard to know but more certainly needs to be done to reach people in such a situation before it ends this way. Thoughts and prayers go out to you.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

