Lunch Lady

Working outside the home I have become a maser at the lunch pail. The company where I work has a terrible lunch room.   It is in the basement so it is windowless.   A windowless room is like not having any  break at all to me.   When my lunch hour comes I am out the door pronto, rain or shine.    I am ready for a break from the office building.  I am ready to see what the world is putting forth.   Since I make the choice to leave the building  I could either go broke attempting to eat good lunches or have terrible health eating crummy lunches.   Neither have any appeal to me, so I am working hard at preparing interesting lunches that pack well. My grocery shopping now takes portability in to consideration.  I have dug out my oldest Tupperware items to hold my lunchtime treasures, since they really are the perfect size, unlike anything else I have found.

This last week I fixed an old-fashion roast beef sandwich spread from left over beef roast.   It was a kind of throwback to two of my grandmas.   One of them introduced me to sandwich spread and the other grandma gave me the meat grinder I still use to this day.

 

imag2603.jpg

I am sure you can use your food processor instead of an old-fashion meat grinder, but for me it a connection to my grandmas.

For those of you unfamiliar with sandwich spread, you grind left over roast.   Then you add chopped onions, celery,hard-boiled eggs, and pickle relish.   Lastly you add store-bought mayo.   For my modern version I added some red bell pepper and my favorite salt-less seasonings.   I put it on bread with lettuce for my lunch, occasionally I add a slice of Muenster cheese for a little variety.   For those of you having heart failure about toting something with mayo in my lunch, today’s mayo has enough preservatives in it that with a frozen blue ice it can safely to to lunch in a sandwich.  I don’t live in fear on that one.

Each day at noon, I head out to my truck where my lunch box awaits me.   Some days I eat at a local park.   Some days when  it rains and I sit there in my truck with a book and my lunch and read at the local park as the rain runs down the windshield.   Many days I go to a friend who has business with big windows and sit in her classroom and eat my lunch and catch up with her and other folks who drop by.

It was hard at first, but now I am getting the hang of this.  I am constantly on the look out for new or old ideas that will  make for an interesting lunch.   I am open to it it all from sandwiches, to salads and everything else in between. Thousands of folks do this daily and now so do I.

2 comments on “Lunch Lady

  1. I’ve never tried sandwich spread. That certainly sounds interesting. I bet I could use my KitchenAid grinder attachment. You are lucky to have a break from the office. I looked forward to the one day a week I had a full shift and was entitled to a 30 min break. I chose to use that time to walk in the park next door. That meant I tailored my lunches to be finger foods I could eat at my desk. My go tos were; hard boiled eggs, hummus with veggies, fresh fruit with yogurt and cottage cheese with black beans and salsa. Occasionally I would pack a sandwich and sit outside, but I much preferred to use my free time for walking. It sounds like you are doing a little of both.

  2. I pack my husband a lunch almost daily during the week. Usually leftovers from the night before but once in a while a sandwich. I remember those sandwich spreads from years ago. Yours sounds yummy!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

