Cooking for the Love of It

I love to cook .   I recently saw a survey that said people now spend more on dining out than at the grocery.   It is something I have a hard time getting my head around.   I think it is so because I not only love to cook, I love to feed people.    To me cooking is part art, and part escape.  Definitely an expression of love.  When I cook I get to vicariously by making a meal go to other places and make things that I might never get a chance to taste otherwise.  Today I had a roast and a busy schedule full of work,so I wanted a recipe that I could crock pot this and turn it into something fun.   I went  online and sought out a  new recipe using the ingredients I have on hand.    I found a recipe that I truly wondered how it would turn out, time was running out and because I had everything I went with it.   My rule of thumb is the first time  on any recipe is by the book, so I did just that.   By lunch time   I  had decided that pie was in order  to go with my roast dinner and put together a cherry pie.

imag2444.jpg

My baking creation today, cherry pie.

Tonight when RangerSir got home he was greeted by the smells of our crock pot roast and his eyes feasted on a cherry pie worthy of Instagram.    I put a dinner feast  on the table worthy of the love for RangerSir.

5 comments on “Cooking for the Love of It

  1. As you may know, I redid my kitchen 2 summers ago. The custom design was for the purpose of plenty of workspace, more burners and room to congregate. Nothing beats a home-cooked meal made with fresh ingredients! There is a reason they call it comfort food.

  2. The pie looks to die for. What was the roast recipe? I love to cook too, as you know. And quite often share with my neighbor as can be a problem sometime cooking for one. So she shares with me too when she cooks. Way to expensive for me to eat out.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

