Should We or Should We Not

It is almost time again for chick days in Montana.   Once again we go through the perennial question should we or should we not get a few chicks to refresh our flock.  There is one part of me who loves to see the new chicks grow up and become part of our little back yard flock.  There is another part of me that says if you get more you must get rid of some.  I have another couple of weeks to make a decision on what I will do.  Right now the see saw could tip either way.  I’ll keep you posted.

10 04 03 002_edited-1

One comment on “Should We or Should We Not

  1. I got 7 chick’s last August from My Pet Chicken. This was the first time I had ever got chick’s at the end of summer. It worked really well for me. I still kept them in the garage because I needed to isolate them from my established flock for six weeks due to the fact that I had had them vaccinated for Marek’s disease. I used a Brisnea heater so they could choose when they wanted heat. They are some of the healthiest and friendliest pullets I have had in a long time. They have been laying for about three weeks now. Great to have fresh eggs again.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

