Infamous Glass of Water

How many sayings are there about that infamous glass of water and how full it is or isn’t?   This morning as I lay in bed, I got to thinking about this glass and the water in it.   It isn’t about perspective, meaning do you look at the glass half full or half empty.    It is about that water and what you do with it.    Sometimes you can have a full glass of water, but it has had so much added to it to make it full that it is just a brown muddied mess.  You don’t really want to deal with the water in your glass  because it makes your life more difficult.   Your glass of water is of little value to you as it is.   It isn’t bringing you joy or helping to make your life any easier, more fulfilling or interesting.   When your glass of water gets cloudy or dirty it might be the right time to dump most of it out and start over.

You may refill your glass with serendipitous rain or snowflakes that you catch,  you may get a little water from a friend’s glass, or maybe you have access to a tap and that is how your replenish your water.  No matter how your get your water it is adding some freshness to your life.   It may be completely clear, like a new pallet for you to fill in or it may be infused  with some glorious color from your friend to help you get on your way.  Likely even if you can’t see it there is some color from the past still in there, a piece of your soul looking to shine again.

2015 was a year when I realized that my glass may have been full maybe even overflowing, but my glass of water had so many things in it that it had turned brown and muddied.  Just because I was good at something did not mean I should do it if it was not my passion or did not bring some joy to my existence.   Just because it was financially easier did not mean that I should not explore the economic  harder road.   People pleasing and peace making isn’t always best.   What appears to be the easy road, may actually be the harder road.

IMAG1817

It isn’t always possible to walk away from things, because life has certain obligations of family, food, shelter and essentials of existence.   I know from experience even if you can make a change  it usually isn’t easy or comfortable. I also have learned that sometimes the best thing you can do is dump out some of that water in your glass, maybe be just a little or possibly nearly all of your water.   There is not a magic amount to let go.  No sure answer what is the right amount of water for your glass at this time.   The right amount for your glass of water in life is ever changing.

2015 was a year of so much change.   I emptied most of my glass.   I was sure that by now I would have an answer and my life would be on easy street and make lots of sense.   Instead I have learned so much about myself and what is possible.  Yet I am not sure what the answer is or if I already have found  it.  I find myself occasionally dancing out in the rain holding my glass to see what drops from the sky I might catch and loving every minute of the dangerous exposure of falling or making a fool of myself.   Other times I have had people share a splash of their brightly colored water with me and found unexpected joy.    In 2015  I have also found that my true friends and family are there cheering me on as I explore my life and my ever changing glass of water. I find myself adding colors to my glass of water and watching the sunlight of life filter through it and guide me on my way.   Sunlight is different each day and each hour.    Life is the same ever changing.  Sometimes I still find the need to pour out some of the water from glass again, unsure if it is right thing to do, but knowing that no matter what I will survive the change.

IMAG1818

In 2016 I want to be open to the possibilities and what I can do with my glass of water.    I want to share my glass of water with others.    I want to accept the joy and wonder that I find with what I have in that glass of water  and all the colors in it that is my life.    I am hoping that in 2016 you too will enjoy your glass however full it maybe and open yourself to the possibilities of what you may do with that crazy glass water you have called life.

 

4 comments on “Infamous Glass of Water

  1. I love your new outlook on the traditional question! No one has every suggested it is okay to dump the muddied water out and start with a fresh collection- and I love all the possible water sources you cite! I will never again see the glass as half full or half empty, but more as that rainbow of possibilities you paint. And that it is always okay to get a fresh start. What a great outlook for the new year!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

