If They Still Made Westerns

IMAG1397

This sort of reminds me of the opening panoramic view in the Big Valley, but this is found today in Montana.

Growing up the TV was full of old-fashion westerns.   They glamorized the history of the old west.   Bonanza, High Chaparral, Gunsmoke, and Big Valley were a few of the ones never missed at our house. One of my favorite parts of these shows beside the handsome heroic cowboys was the scenic lands of the west. This summer I realized that as the world has become more populated and we have more and more urban sprawl, the places where you can go to imagine what the west may have looked like long ago are becoming pretty hard to find.   Lucky for me Montana still has lots of places like that and I got to see many of them.   I always wanted to visit places like I saw on TV westerns and now I have.

3 comments on “If They Still Made Westerns

  1. We traveled through Wyoming, parts of Utah and Colorado this summer. Along the way I could envision a band of outlaws (being chased by Marshall Dillon!) riding out from behind many of the mountains and rock formations we saw. Stopped in Medicine Bow, WY, famous for the Virginian. Love the West!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

