Creature of Habit

One of the things that multiple people  have said to me multiple times  that now I can sleep in and do nothing since I am no longer employed by someone else.  Interesting thought, but not happening.    First and foremost I am a creature of habit and routine.  So in spite of this big change in my life there is so much I do that I have always done and will likely continue to do, but I am seeking something different.

For this creature it means that I get up each morning and almost universally am rocking and rolling each day by 7.   It is my internal time clock.   It is part of me.  Regular time or daylight savings time each day at 7 bells each am I am getting up, no alarm required.  I am a morning person it is part of my undeniable chemistry always has been and not likely to change.

Another piece of my make up is the need for some kind of control.  It is that type A, analytical business analysis that I spent most of my life being speaking up here.  To satisfy that need to plan and have some control I still use  a planner.   In my planner you will still find a to-do list, though I will freely admit it looks much different.   No longer is full of things my employer needs from me.  My day is no longer driven by the obligations I have as an employee.    Instead it is full of ideas that pop in my head, people I want to call, appointments I need to make for myself or the animals, things I want to learn more about, places I have wanted to visit and other things that are on my personal wish list.  Each morning over that first cup of tea I look at the list and decide what on my list I want to do today.   Some days it is one thing and other days it is five things.    It depends on if the weather calling my name to come out and play in an early spring day in Montana, or my creative muse is begging me to spend the day in my studio space, or a book on my reading list just became available at the library, or a million other things that can make that day just right for me.

So maybe my method has not changed, but what I am doing with my time has changed.    Lets see what the changes bring into my life.

5 comments on “Creature of Habit

  1. I made this same transition when I retired. I actually get up much earlier now than I did when I worked! But I have a list of things i want to do and relish marking things off the list, and then adding more things that I WANT to do!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

