Moving Forward

CourtneysDigiscrappin_YourLife_WA12

As I start this next chapter of my life, I am finding that it is really all up to me what my life looks like.

I have worked ever since I was old enough to babysit and have not stopped since.    For the most part I have been lucky and have had some pretty good employers and jobs.   I have been been blessed to not only have a great career but one that has allowed me to have a great life and experience the changes of the world of technology.     I have  had the opportunity to be a rising star and a be a leader in different business settings.   I thrived in that environment, thought at times it was all consuming. There were sacrifices made by not just me, but my friends and family as well. At times I became my career and it became me.

Now that I am am unemployed and of a certain age,  I am looking at the idea of moving back to a work in role of a worker bee rather than a leader.   I suspect that it will be hard after years of being a leader, but it is now someone else’s time to shine. I want to leave at the end of the work day, knowing I did the best job possible for that time, but the work day is over and I get to leave.  I no longer wish to be at my desk at 6:00 in the morning and still be there at 6:30 at night.  More importantly,  I don’t want my mind to race at night mulling over business problems and wondering how I can improve the situation.   It is now my time to make a contribution in ways with my talents outside of my job.  Those extra hours at work have a new place to go.  I have in the given past, but my heart tells me it is now time to look at more and different ways to give back to my community.    My creative muse is screaming to get out and play.     The impulsive person in me, who has been under lock and key is just clawing to get out, and do something spur of the moment.

So as I celebrate five years blogging here at LookingOutTheWindow, I invite you to ride along on the next chapter as I explore life looking out a new window and what I find along the way.

9 comments on “Moving Forward

  1. Good luck in your new endeavors. It is amazing how many things we have in life other than working a job. Hope you enjoy your time away from the grind.

    Keep cranking,

    Robert the DividendDreamer

  2. When the right opportunity comes along, you will see it. Just stay open minded and explore all your options. And look into volunteering. Twice that has led me down a path that has been fortuitous. Best wishes.

  3. It’s been two years this month since I quit a job I’d worked at for 15 years and I haven’t regretted it since. I still work another job part-time but now I have the time to work on writing projects and to accomplish things I’d long put off doing. I look forward to reading about what you do next. Congrats and good luck!

    Lucy

  4. That is exactly what I did a little over three years ago. Stopped the merry-go-round of being in work-mode 24/7. I have enjoyed worker-bee mode. Come to work, take my assigned breaks (no skipping!) and lunch (not at my desk!) and going home on time to think no more about the office. It has been wonderful to re-discover what an amazing and talented person I am. Your turn!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

