Big Sister and Little Brother Moment Captured in a Snapshot

When I look at this snapshot of my brother and me it makes me smile.   I am not sure what was going on in this photo I was too young to remember when this photo was taken.   I think my life was full of big sister-little brother moments so this was likely one of many and nothing so special about this particular moment it has stuck in my mind for over 50 years.

Diana and Steve

What in the heck was this snowsuit all about?   It looks like our mother thought my brother was going to be outside for hours instead of the few minutes that she took to photograph this moment.

I was likely two and my brother six months or so old.   I was holding him tight with my little mittened hands and watching over his shoulder to make sure the world was right for for my baby brother, whom my mother had entrusted me with.   It was the beginning of a lifetime relationship of caring about my brothers.   Though much of our lives my brothers and I have lived half a continent or more apart they are still my brothers who I love and care about as much today as when this photo was taken with the middle brother.  I don’t think about my brothers most days, I am busy wrapped up in my life I hate to admit.   But then I come across a photo like this and am reminded that I have some pretty awesome brothers.

P.S. To my other brothers who are not in this photo, you rock too.   I love you all, but this was the snapshot I found today, so it was the one I used to remind me of what a great bunch of guys I get to call brother.

One comment on “Big Sister and Little Brother Moment Captured in a Snapshot

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

