The Time is Right

I recently gave notice to my employer of nearly seven years that I was leaving the organization.    It was not a decision I entered into lightly or without nights of loss sleep.   The analytical side of my brain was calculating and recalculating the impacts on my life, personally, professionally and financially.   There were tons of pros and cons to my  decision that rolled over and over in my mind with no clear winner. For the first time I was leaving a job without a clear plan of what I was going to do next.   The only sure thing was that  I needed to close one door before I could move to the next phase of life.      Both RangerSir and I knew it was the right time and the right thing to do for me and for us.   We knew this was the time for me to stop procrastinating and see what could happen if I tried a few of those “what ifs”  and  explored some of those tucked away dreams.

I spent the last week in Great Falls, Montana working my last conference for the organization.   It was a great to be able to see my board of directors and many of the members of the organization one last time.   It was a full of questions from folks about what will you do next?  The honest answer was I don’t know yet.    It felt sort of lame when I said it out loud.   It was another moment of second guessing a carefully weighed decision.

I got home yesterday.   I was catching up  on all that had happened while I had been gone; reading the newspapers,stopping into my favorite local craft store for creative supplies and catching up with some of the women who I teach card classes to.   In just six days, two friends had lost their wives and another had lost a son-in-law who was only 43.   A beloved local doctor continues his fight against an aggressive cancer, and my dear aunt was once again hospitalized l fighting the same disease.   A friend who has been struggling with symptoms and was seeking a diagnosis finally got one, ALS.  It was a reminder that time can be short or long we don’t know.  When it is within our reach we should risk it and seek what is possible and not assume that there will  be plenty of time. Circumstances don’t always allow us to take the risk, but when the stars align and it is possible to do so.   Don’t let yourself be caught up in regrets, what if’s or die wondering. Time and health are both finite.   We have no idea how long with have of each, but the supply is not limitless, don’t waste it.  For me the time is right to take the risk and see what is possible.

5 comments on “The Time is Right

  1. As they say, nothing ventured nothing gained. We all reach the point where we wonder what other paths we could have traveled. Good for you for taking the first step in a new direction. Best wishes in your new endeavors!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

