National Novel Writing Month – Winner

I have just been declared a winner because I just finished certifying my novel for having written at least 50,000 words in November.   I wonder about being a winner because it clearly is not a complete story yet.    On the other hand it has enough words that it could easily turn into a novel if I stick with it.   I have always thought that there is a novel in me and for a host of reasons I have never gotten this far before.   It was a great experience and I plan to stick with this one and finish it up.

At the end of 30 days there is lots I have learned.

  • My writing style is pantser.   I am too analytical and if I plan my book I never get beyond planning the perfect novel.
  • I am more flexible that I thought, because the critical conflict was not anything that was on my radar when I started writing.
  • I can accomplish an ambitious goal without it taking over my life to the exclusion of other things I enjoy.  I managed to make cards, teach a creative class, watch movies, read books, visit friends, x-c ski and other things important to me in the midst of this.
  • Work will always impact your home life.   I was on the road for work and did not write for several days, but it did not prevent me from accomplishing a personal goal.   Don’t let work be an excuse for not accomplishing your personal goals.
  • I like creative writing.   It provides a place for all those voices in my head to find a outlet.
  • Longer stories are much harder than short stories, blogs and other writing I have done.
  • Being a writer made me a much more attentive reader.
  • I like writing dialogue.
  • My business writing skills, as good as they may be, are not sufficient alone to support creative writing.
  • I will be looking to take some creative writing classes.
  • I will be looking for a writer’s group to support and question me as I work through the editing process.

Thanks for those who were along for the ride.  It is only the first time around the track and I can see that there is at least another lap or two to be made before I finish this race.

I love this poster and may have to just get one for myself. It captures so much of what goes on in a writer’s mind, or at least my mind this last month.

9 comments on “National Novel Writing Month – Winner

  1. So great you stuck with your goal. I know it was a tough month, not even including downtime over the holiday. Congratulations on being a winner. Hopefully that feeling motivates you to see this project through to the end.

  2. SO proud of you, Diana! I have difficulty writing to a deadline, one of my biggest weaknesses in writing, so I admire anyone who can participate in & complete the goal of this group!! I would love to read your book & help you informally with your editing if you need another set of eyes for it! Just so thrilled for you, because all who know you KNOW you are a “winner” indeed!

    • Thanks for the offers. Now I have to stick to it and really finish it. Just this am it took a turn I had not planned on, but now I feel it is ready for closure.

      When work took me out of town, I almost threw in the towel. It would have been so easy at that moment. Now so glad I did not.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

