Writing Dialogue

I have taken a fair number of writing classes.   Most of them have revolved around business writing. I have mastered the fine art of writing proposals, documenting businesses operations, and general written communications.      In the course of my career I have learned how to use  general business writing skills and developed my technical writing skills.   I can write text for websites taking into consideration how it will affect SEO (search engine optimization).  I have been doing this all long enough that it comes easy.

I have recorded family history and taken classes to help me learn how to take dry dull, facts and figures and bring to life the people who I have researched.    This works writing style works well with my analytical brain.

Now I am writing my first novel and I have discovered I know almost nothing about the right punctuation for dialogue.  I know the fundamentals of the use of quotation marks and where the comma goes but beyond that I have no idea.     I am writing this novel  pantser style so there will be lots of editing to do when I am done.     I will be looking to take class, read a book  or some other way to learn more about the right way to handle dialogue.   Right now the ideas are flowing, and they say as long as that is happening if you are a pantser you keep on going.

They say in good dialogue writing the reader knows who is speaking without telling them. What a goal.

 

I am over 8,000 words tonight and I put in a full day of work.   I am getting a blog posting written and I worked on a gift a bit tonight in my studio.   Do you suppose this novel is providing all this energy?

 

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

