Where were you?

Fourty-five years ago today was the historic moment when man first stepped on the moon.   I was a young girl and not in to all that space stuff, like my husband was, yet I can remember that day. It was a defining moment in history of what we could do if we set our minds to it.

July 20, 1969 Man on the moon.

I was at the cabin on Pike Bay in northern Minnesota.   It was a cabin like so many at that time, without running water or telephone.   I had been there many times and would be there many more, yet this was the only time that we ever had a TV at the cabin.   The portable television with tinfoil on the rabbit ears sat next to the Victrola.  Granny, Uncle Phil and I sat on three hardback kitchen chairs around the snow screen watching Neil Armstrong set foot on the moon as a Super8 movie camera on a tripod captured it all.

Space travel was real and walking on the moon seemed possible, but until it happened it was just a wee be incredulous.   Suddenly it was real, it had happened and I had seen it.   We, the US of A,  had done it.   As a family full of military men it was a moment of great pride because we had done it first.  We had won the space race ahead of the Russian, in the midst of the Cold War.

It was an amazing time and I got to experience it.

4 comments on “Where were you?

  1. I so remember that day! I was almost 5 yrs old and found it to be inspiring. In the following years NASA set their goals higher in terms of space exploration. But I had my goal firmly in my mind: I wished to be the first woman to walk on the moon. For better or worse, that dream is still possible.

  2. I remember a lot of other moments from the 1960s vividly but, weirdly, this one didn’t register much with me. I was 14 and probably worrying about boys. 😉

  3. I was 10 and I don’t remember seeing it live but did see it later when my Mom had the news on. I was probably out riding my bike or some other thing that a 10 year old would do then. 🙂

  4. I was 17 that summer. A girlfriend and I were heading to one of the dances held every Sunday evening for local teens. We thought we’d have time to reach another girl’s house to watch the moon-landing before going to the dance. Then we heard on the car radio that they were ready to emerge from the module, and we quickly raced back to my friend’s house to watch history being made. It is still an amazing accomplishment for our country, even to this day, and I’m also glad I was there to see it.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

