Childhood Goals-To be a Writer

One of my earliest dreams was to be a writer.   My first memory of wanting to be a writer harks back to the second grade shortly after I learned to read.   Learning to read opened my eyes and minds to amazing things.   I wanted to create that same perfect experience for some one else that a book created for me.

It is easy to want to be something, but to follow through and actually do it is hard.

I was raised during a time when wanting something for yourself always seemed a bit selfish.

First there is the follow through to the end.  So often our dreams seem lofty and out of our reach.   We tend to start toward them, but we don’t have the confidence or refuse to make the time to achieve our dreams.

One of my earliest dreams of what adulthood looked like, I would be a primary school teacher teaching children to read, and in the summer I would spend my days on the beach writing books and painting.

Yep. I can string words together to make a sentence, and then string a few sentences together into a paragraph.   That makes me a writer.  A writer of books well that I am still working on that.

8 comments on “Childhood Goals-To be a Writer

    • I have looked at that more than once. One year I even thought I might do it, but I used an excuse in that November is a very busy time for work. I am thinking that this needs to go on my list. Once something goes on my list it does make a huge difference when I put something on that list

  1. Yes, you are a writer! By writing your blog, you’ve taken that first step, and it’s never too late to start on the books. Just as a journey begins with one step, writing a book begins with that first page. Take the time for yourself, even if it’s only an hour a day, to begin that new journey. “Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.” (Goethe)Years ago I took a writing class through Writer’s Digest School, and I still have a little card with that quote on it given to us. I look at it often to remind myself.

    • Thanks for your encouragement. Writing a book is such a two fold commitment. First to yourself, for the time. Asking for an hour for yourself should not be so hard. Second for the exposure for failure. What if they do’t like what I write. I am really hoping to use this as a jump off point and get myself started.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

