Potato Salad

Summer is the time of picnics and barbecues.   With those activities comes food….potato salad.   There are as many potato salad recipes as there are families.  Each family is sure theirs is the right way to make it and all  think the rest are ugly step-children, having no place at the table.    Having lived many places and participated in potlucks with folks who have come from all corners of the US, I feel I have ate more than my fair share of variations.    Quite honestly it has been fun to eat and hear how each of them are made.    I have a couple of favorites that I make based on the rest of the meal.   There is no right or single recipe for me.   Some of the questions you have to answer when you make a potato salad are…

  • Hot or cold?
  • Mayo or Miracle Whip?
  • To peel or not to peel?
  • Mustard or not, if so yellow, Dijon or stone ground?
  • How many eggs, a few or as many as the potatoes?
  • Seasonings… salt, pepper, garlic salt,  season salt, dill or something else?
  • Pickles yes or no?
  • Sugar?
  • Vinegar?
  • and the list goes on, and on.

When you get ready to make a batch of your family’s world famous potato salad this year, think of the zillion other recipes out there and consider being bold and trying something new and different.

4 comments on “Potato Salad

  1. Gasp! Try something new? Surely you jest! Actually It took me almost 45 years to make a potato salad my hubby and I considered the best,, so I figure I got all my experiments out of the way already! A friend in Extension Homemakers said “You just have to use Best Foods mayo (Hellman’s east of the Rockies) and it doesn’t matter what else you put in. And, Yup, she was right!

    • Funny my family heirloom recipe calls for Miracle Whip, but I have found a preference for the Hellman’s. Yes I was brought up East of the Rockies. We still call it that even though after living here all this time I should call it Best Foods by now.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

