Kids Make You Old

stick-familyOr maybe it is not having them keeps you young.  So much of life is measured by milestones but you don’t much think about them.  Unless that is, you skipped a bunch of aging milestones because you had no children.

Mr. Ranger Sir and I had no children.  We have missed all those milestones that parents measure life against, graduations, marriages, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.  All those moments when you reflected and said “Holy Cow, where did the time go?”  or  “Our kids can’t be that old already.”  We never had a full nest to experience an empty nest.

We have had  different milestones.   We think about where did we live  or what job did one of us have when that happened.   But none of those are related to our age.  My brothers regardless of their age or birth order are all older than me.   They have had so many of life’s milestones I haven’t.   Their children have made them old in more ways than one.

Now we are starting to look at external aging milestones.   We have been planning for retirement for years, but it now on the horizon.   It is a milestone we can’t avoid and it will say yes we are getting older – kids or not.

6 comments on “Kids Make You Old

  1. Thanks for sharing this. My husband and I don’t have children either, and at the moment, we don’t plan on it. (We have both reserved the right to change our minds in the future). Now that I’m in my mid-thirties, all my friends are starting families (some would say we’re late bloomers), and I see their lives being shaped around milestones that I may never experience. But then again, I have shaped my life around other milestones, such as “that spring we spent in Europe” or “the summer we spent driving around North America.” Different milestones, certainly, but, in my opinion, equally as wonderful. I hope your retirement milestone is awesome for you both!

      • My uncle just retired – in the 48 hours prior to his last day, both he and my aunt had one clumsy accident after another – enough to talk anyone out of thinking about retirement! LOL

        But I worry not for you – Mr. Ranger, Sir is around to make sure everyone follows the safety rules – right?

        It’s serendipity, my latest family story and your post – as I was reading about the looming retirement, I was thinking of the latest ‘clutz-fest’ and wondering if they will remember this as the “Summer we took the trip” or “The summer after you threw your back out”

        🙂

  2. Funny how technologically advanced we are, but how we still remember time by events – Instead of ‘summer it snowed’ or ‘winter when the buffalo hid’ , we say, “it was the year we lived in that little red house’, or ‘the fall after Dad had his accident” – or “You know, that trip we took the summer after you retired…

    🙂 You and Mr. Ranger, Sir are opening up a whole new vocabulary for remembering events!

    Okay to say, “Congratulations”?

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

