My Favorite Ankle Biter

Me training with my favorite ankle biter.

Me training with my favorite ankle biter.

I am training for a half marathon.   It means I must do more than just casual walking that I normally do.  I have a treadmill, but only use it as a necessary evil.  I prefer to walk outside.     I am careful when I walking, know that bad things can happen to good people.   Last year a Montana woman was nabbed when she was out running.  She was going much faster than I will ever be able to move.   It happened in a small town with an oil boom.   It doesn’t stop me from being out there trying to get ready for my race.   It means that I am conscious of the choices I make and try to make choices that lower my risk.

One of my risk reducing activities is walking with  my little Cairn Terrier.   He is not much to look at as far as a protector goes.     He does not strike fear in people the way a Rottweiler, German Shepard or other full-sized dog may.   In spite of that he is my guardian when I walk.   He keeps watch and lets me know what is going on long before I notice.   He was a rescue  dog and is not everyone’s friend.   He is unsure of men, folks with boots and folks who sneak up on him.   He has terrier energy and is glad to walk miles with me.

He is a perfect companion for me  as I train.   My dog and my favorite ankle biter.

4 comments on “My Favorite Ankle Biter

  1. Our Reichle school in Glen is putting on a fun run in July. Maybe you would be interested in joining the fun. Info is at http://www.runmt.com and you can find race detail by going to the calendar for July 13th. I am also training, but for something a little different. I am going to do the Dirty Dash in Billings in July, it is motivation to get fit for sure!

  2. It’s always good to have a companion with you when you walk, and terriers are tenacious if they are anything. We have a Jack Russell Terrier and he will walk with us anywhere and for as long as we want. Great dogs and good friends.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

