Chickens in a Box

chix-boxNo I am not talking take out chicken dinner, I am talking baby chicks.   On Friday morning at 8:30 I got a call from the local post office to come pick up my box of baby chicks.   I pulled on my shoes and got in my rig and drove to town to pick up my box.

When I got there, everyone was fascinated by a box that came through the mail that was full of loud peeping.   Chicks in a box always cheep and peep, but this box was the loudest I had ever received.  They wanted to know if I had done it before, which I had.   They pepper me with more questions which I freely answered as I took my box and headed home.    It is a fun time to introduce others to the process of chickens and eggs.

My 15 baby chicks  they were all sorts of  colors.   Just the way I like it, pretty, different layers.   My invoice was stamped with males for warmth.   Bummer!   For the first time of having extra chicks as packing peanuts, I  could not tell who they were.   I could not tell the difference between the chicks I wanted and the boy chicks I did not want.  Bigger bummer!   It means that I am going to have five boys that will be strutting around with testosterone fever shortly.   It means nothing but trouble.  So I am hoping  they don’t fight much, leave the girls along and grow fast so they can go off to freezer camp in a few weeks.

6 comments on “Chickens in a Box

  1. Hahaha, “freezer camp.” What a great term! I must admit that I’m not grown up enough to send my chicks to freezer camp. From which breeder did you order? Everyone I’ve been made aware of requires a minimum order of 25 chicks. I look forward to hearing regular updates of how your new babies are getting on.

    • I order from Ideal because they allow small flocks, and let me pick one of this and one of that. When I have bought later in the season I have gotten boxes with as few as 15. This time I bought 15 but ordered so much earlier I got 5 extras for warmth. I knew it was likely March in Montana.

    • I hate the moment of putting any of them down when we butcher, but we have decided that the life we offer them is much better than any life in a “factory farm.” It is part of understanding the cycle of life and the food cycle. It isn’t pretty, that in poultry females are “valued” more than males, but I blogged about this so folks understand chicken is much more complex than a skinless, boneless piece of meat in a pink container at the supermarket.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

