One Week and Counting

One chick that is guranteed to survive.

One chick that is guaranteed to survive.

One week from today my baby chicks will arrive.   I need to start to get my things in order to be ready for the responsibly of baby chicks.   I need to get all my brooder stuff out and set up so when they arrive all I have to do is turn on the light.   I need to pull supplies out of the garage and shed and get them cleaned up so I can bring it all into the house.    I must say in lots of ways I am excited to see what the new breeds bring to my flock.   On the other hand I dread the whole process of raising baby animals and the knowledge that more will have to be butchered.   It is the cycle of life and keeping a flock of chickens brings it up close and personal.

2 comments on “One Week and Counting

  1. You are bringing me back to our excitement last year, getting our first chicks. We had no idea what was in store for us. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: it’s hard figuring out the best way to raise animals that aren’t pets, but are definitely more than “livestock.”

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

