Too Much of a Good Thing

We have way too many oranges in our refrigerator.   A couple weeks ago we bought a citrus mix box from Bountiful Baskets.    I am not sure why I did it other than I was fascinated with all the different kinds of  citrus that were possible.   They were offering three different kinds of mandarin types, several types of standard oranges including blood oranges, lemons and pomelos.  How could a girl refuse??   The foodie in me wanted to see and taste all the differences.

Now I have a refrigerator full of citrus and only two of us to eat it all.   What’s a girl to do?   Yesterday I made orange curd.   Good lemon curd is a mouth orgy  Orange curd seemed like a first step to using up all this citrus.   Besides my girls were now laying eggs again, I did not have to any longer be stingy with my pricey locally grown eggs.

Once I finished it my husband tasted and said interesting…what are we going to do with it.   Now I had moved a problem from one place to another, from the produce drawer to a shelf in the refrigerator.     It took a little thinking, but I did come up with a solution.   I pulled frozen lady fingers and strawberries from the deep freeze in the basement.   I frosted the lady fingers with orange curd, and layered them up.   Then  topped with with a smashed strawberry sauce.   Then my husband found a little left over huckleberry compote and tried that for his second serving.   Either way you served it yummy!

Here is the recipe I used from Southern Living Magazine December 2002

Fresh Orange Curd

Ingredients
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch 
  • 2 cups fresh orange juice ( I used juice from 3 kinds of mandarins & two kinds of regular oranges)
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tablespoon grated orange rind
Preparation
    • Combine sugar and cornstarch in a 3-quart saucepan; gradually whisk in fresh orange juice. Whisk in lightly beaten eggs. Bring to a boil (5 to 6 minutes) over medium heat, whisking constantly.
    • Cook, whisking constantly, 1 to 2 minutes or until mixture reaches a pudding-like thickness. Remove from heat, and whisk in butter and grated orange rind. Cover, placing plastic wrap directly on curd, and chill 8 hours.

 

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

