Best Gift

Yesterday I got a phone call in the middle of the day from my brother, because he had received a box of cookies.   He called because he was thrilled because he got the gift of a box of cookies from his sister, me.   He talked how anyone can make chocolate chip cookies, but a box of Christmas cookies from me was a like a treasure chest.   The cookies were special cookies from recipes that not everyone makes.    He told me that each one was a different jewel.   He told me how special he felt when he received that box I sent to him.

My brother and I were close as small children, but life has taken us on so many different trails and different destinations.   We no longer live geographically close and I see him only every few years.  In spite of that all his call made my day. I may have given him a box of cookies, but his phone call to me was the best gift he could have given me.  It reminded me that the gift of time and love is priceless.   We need to make sure we recognize those gifts when they are given and embrace them.

One comment on “Best Gift

  1. So very true…this post reminds me so much of me and my brother. We were so close as children, but lived far apart when older. He died this last September of cancer. When I spoke at his memorial I said that I would especially miss hearing his voice…hearing his voice in his phone calls was so precious to me. Treasuring these moments like you are is so very important. I feel like a part of me is gone and yet he will always be with me… “The gift of time and love is priceless” ~ wonderful reminder, thank you for sharing this beautiful post.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

