Rent Space on the Cloud

I am a backup fanatic.   It is part of my previous life working for Fortune 500 companies in the data processing field.   I am always worried about loosing data and how we are going to recreate it.   This practice has been a God sent more than once at work.

On a personal level I have multiple backup devices that I rotate in case of failure.   Tonight I signed up for some space on the cloud. I thought lots about all the photos I take and how that  in the flash of an second I could lose years of memories.   Even with the best laid plans a person can meet with catastrophic failure.   We have had water damage twice in the last 30 years.   My brother had a house fire and lost most everything.   A friend has lost her music twice.  We can take care, do regular backups, buy insurance, but nothing works like having some offsite storage.   I rest a little easier tonight.

2 comments on “Rent Space on the Cloud

  1. Great advice! We have lost important documents, family photos, and other data one too many times, and I don’t want it to happen again. It’s a terrible feeling when a hard-drive crashes and you don’t have a backup. We’ve been using CrashPlan for a year now and have been very happy with them.

  2. Holy crap have you gone all Elemental on me- this is a whole new look- very awesome – can not wait to learn about the cloud- I think it is for sure the back up of the future!!! Someday we’ll all be using the cloud and all of these external flash drives and seagates will be obsolete~ I’m guessing in just a few years at the rate technology goes…..

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

