Bully, the documentary

Yesterday I watched the director of a documentary talk about the film, Bully, being released March 30th.   It is making the news right now because it is rated R.  Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) gave it this rating because of  “some language” in the film — roughly seven uses of the word “fuck” — which means no one under 17 will  be permitted to see the film without a parent or guardian.   One of the students in the documentary testified against this rating because he could not go see a film about the life he lives every day.  The MPAA will change the rating to one for  a broader audience if the director removes a few of the F-words.  Instead the director has used this as a another opportunity to call attention to bullying, that no one wants to believe it is this bad, that kids will be kids,  and the host of many other reasons that we as a society have not stood up against this.

There are lots of films and organizations out there talking about this but for some reason this one reached deep inside me.   Maybe it is this fight against making a documentary on bullying  more palatable to audiences and the public, when the reality for kids who live with bullying daily  is anything but.     Or possibly it reminded me of some of my personal demons long tucked way.  I was never bullied non-stop like so many kids are today.  As a youngster  I could go home and there was no non-stop of barrage from the internet or cell phones.  Home could be a retreat that is no longer  available to kids today.

One comment on “Bully, the documentary

  1. This post is so timely, I just had a conversation with my parents last night about bullying. In light of the Ohio incident, it is once again back in the spotlight. I was bullied a little in HS and as a teacher for nine years, I know exactly how cruel kids can be. Hazing, indoctrination into certain grade levels or sports is considered completely normal… and it is so wrong. The kid in Kalispell who was sodomized on a sports bus while the coaches were on it!? I mean really! How do adults allow this to happen? We have a culture that has not only allowed the bullying to exist, but it has somehow fostered it to the point that it is worse today than ever (I think in part technology has also made it worse).

    I am going to go out on a limb here and sound absolutely terrible, but so be it. If this kid in Ohio was bullied to the point that he felt such rage he had to bring a gun to school to try to gain some justice. I am secretly cheering for him. Maybe those bullies – the two who are left – will have an epiphany? Somehow, some way we have to get kids today to understand that bullying is NOT acceptable. I don’t know how you do that.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

