Who Do You Think You Are?

Friday night the TV show “Who Do You Think You Are?” returned. I am torn about the show. I enjoy it because I love to see folks find their family history. I hate it because it all looks so simple; it isn’t.

This week’s show was fascinating because the featured person, Martin Sheen, was drawn in by the stories of not his direct descendants but Uncles. Many of us who research family history find ourselves often in the same place. An Aunt or Uncle has a hugely fascinating history and the search sucks us in. We can not find enough about their story. The holes make us wonder even more.

One of my personal favorites is Dr. Edna Timms. She was a pioneer in women’s health, at a time when women physicians were rare. Edna was concern about women’s health, the concerns of working women, children’s welfare, when such things were scoffed at. I wrote about her on my other blog focused on family history (http://recreatinghistory.wordpress.com/)  Hope you will stop by and check out my written journey in to my family history.

One comment on “Who Do You Think You Are?

  1. I very much agree with you about the show! If only we could all discover an entire family line in 40 minutes in such great depth and detail! I dvr’d the show and plan on watching it tonight. You have a great family history blog!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

