Cost of eReaders

I have an eReader, a Kindle to be exact.   Many of my friends also have readers as well.   One of the things one needs to be aware of is that you have to be as smart with your reader as you were before you had it.   If you are a voracious reader like me you could go broke buying new books for yourself.

Prior to owning a reader I loved the used book and thrift stores for full-filling my reading addiction.   I still have a bag of books from my last stop at a used book store.   Now with a reader I can’t flock into the used book store and pick up some books for my reader.   Most ebooks are not easy to lend, but it can be done at least once for more and more books now days.  Instead I have had to teach myself new thrifty habits to meet my needs.

First the Amazon top 100 free, deals of the day and the under $3.99 bin are a great place to find books.      The really interesting thing is that if you watch theses three categories you will find occasional new releases in them.   I  many $15  books for ZERO DOLLARS.   I am not sure, but I think publishers allow unannounced freebies to get their books some exposure, good reviews or some buzz.  Now mind you this is not true every day, but if you are looking for a  way to kill a few minutes it is a great place to visit.

If you like me are trying to add some classics to your reading there are lots of sources for books that are free, as they are no longer protected by copyright.  There are lots of sites out there with those free for the taking.

Another source is your public library online.   There you can get in the que to read the latest books free.   Unlike the old fashion library you don’t need to go in or return them.   Way cool.    I  use libraries for research work, but I haven’t check a book out in years because they always go back late.   Now I am rediscovering the library.  I even made a donation to my local library because I really love the ebooks option and if I don’t pay fines how are they going to keep up the program.

If you are rural like me you do lots of  internet ordering and probably do a fair share at Amazon.   A friend introduced me to Amazon Prime.   She signed up for it because of the shipping program, but now with her Kindle she is also taking advantage of the lending feature that comes with that program.   I am not a Prime program participant, but her talking about how well the program worked for her I am thinking about it.

Another thing I do is visit publisher’s websites and sign up for their newsletter.  They are not giving away tons, but ocassionally I do find a gem.   Think of all the different thrift stores and rummage sales you scrounge for your books.

Lastly if you do need a brand new book almost all Kindle books on Amazon you can read the first chapter free.  I am not sure about Nook.    Before you plunk down your hard earned cash on that new book, take advantage of that free first chapter insight.  Depending on that first chapter goes you will know if you really do need that book right now or you can wait for it from your public library, or the price to go down.

I have more books that I have gotten the above ways than I can keep up with even with all the reading I do.   But I also can say that spending usually zero on a book, if I don’t like I have no second thought about the delete option.   Good luck in your quest to keep your book budget in line with your reader.   Let me know if you know of some other good resources.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

