Christmas Pj’s

 I am not sure where I got the idea that there was such a thing as Christmas pajamas.   Somehow I imagined in households across the country you got a new pair of pj’s on Christmas Eve, to wear and wake up in, when you got up to see what Santa left you.     I have a picture of  my two brothers and me  in matching pajamas that appears to be taken at Christmas.    Maybe this is where that idea was hatched for  me, as I don’t think I got new pj’s each year.

Years later I still hold on to that notion of Christmas pj’s as a necessary part of a child’s Christmas.   Each year we are part of group who an adopt a family at Christmas.  I consider it my mission to find a warm set of pajamas and slippers  for each child.  I enjoy myself finding just the right pair for each child on my list.   I hope that years later even if this was the only year that they got new pj’s at Christmas it provides a warm memory for them.

2 comments on “Christmas Pj’s

  1. What a great idea getting slippers and pajamas for Christmas. I listen to NPR radio and always at Christmas they mention the Pajama Company. Maybe this year I’ll finally look them up. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

