Eggnog the Real Stuff

Another holiday tradition, eggnog.   Either you love it or hate it.   It is like fruit cake no middle ground on how you feel about it.      My mother always bought a quarter every year and I think she and one brother were the only ones who drank it.  That thick almost gelatinous yellow stuff with artificial tastes of brandy…yech!  I am here to tell you that as an chicken keeper with fresh eggs that is not eggnog!

With fresh eggs, from my clean healthy  hens, I am not afraid to eat them uncooked.  This opened the possibility of  trying  homemade eggnog.    I belong to the Backyard Chicken forum and every year they drag out Miss Prissy’s eggnog and swear by it.  It seemed as good of group to take advice from as any.     The following is  the famous recipe.

Miss Prissy ‘s Eggnog

12 eggs, separated
1 1/2 cup granulated sugar
4 cups very cold heavy cream
4 cups very cold whole milk
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
nutmeg for sprinkling

In large bowl beat the egg whites until stiff. Fold in half of the sugar. Careful not to break the whites.

In an another larger bowl beat yolks until creamy. Fold in half of the sugar.

Fold egg whites into beaten yolks.

Carefully stir in the cream, milk and nutmeg.

Sprinkle with nutmeg.

This recipe can be easily pared down to half or quarter a recipe. I just add a nip of brandy or rum when the mood strikes me or drink it just plain with nutmeg.   It has made me a believer.   Like so many holiday treats, it is a little rich  but once a year I say go for it.

I am providing  a link to allow you to see her version with alcohol as well if that tickles your fancy.

If you own chickens and they are still laying or have access to farm fresh eggs that you know how they were handled this is well worth the try.

One comment on “Eggnog the Real Stuff

  1. Wow that recipe with all the cream etc. would really pack on the pounds but bet it is sure good. I broke down the other day and bought a quart of the store kind.Love it. Drank the whole quart. Did go for the low-fat but still pretty rich. Can’t get through the season without at least one quart of it.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

