You Can Now Play Christmas Music

Record Player from my youth

Yesterday I loaded my three Christmas music playlists on my MP3 player.   Each year I put my Christmas music on the first day of  December and take it all off after Christmas.  I have three holiday playlists classics, instrumentals, and the Messiah.

My holiday classics playlist reminds me of the old Firestone Christmas albums with the right person singing the right song.  There are so many Christmas albums out there.  Many have only one or if you are lucky two  classics on them.  There many  holiday albums that should never have been made; the songs with  odd arrangements  such that it  feels like some one on LDS trying to sing one of your favorites.

Unless you are a  hard core Elvis fan, Blue Christmas is the only Elvis song you need.   It you are a bit of a jazz  or crooner junkie, loving late 40’s, 50’s and early 60’s there are many songs that you want.   Silver Bells with Bing and Rosemary Clooney is the only way it should be sung.     If you  grew up with the Rudolph TV show Burl Ives’  Holly Jolly Christmas is probably on your have to have list.   I have these all on my play list.   I also have Vince Gill, Chris Issak, John Lennon, Yellow Jackets, Tom Scott, Nat King Cole, Lady Gaga, Judy Garland,  and Sarah McLaughlin. An eclectic collection to be sure.

One could go broke trying to buy all the albums you would need  just to get one song off of each.  Fortunately technology has changed and now you can buy single songs.  On  Amazon or iTunes  you pay for and download  only the songs you want.  I love this new technology and each year I find myself adding a few more oldies and a new one now and then.  My collection grows larger and more diverse every year.  It is one of the ways I celebrate the holidays with music.

5 comments on “You Can Now Play Christmas Music

  1. Your list is as diversified as mine. Love it.. My dad left me his cherished classical albums after he passed away.

    I never appreciated those albums while he was alive, but last Christmas I played The Messiah, and Wow!! Then I looked up the story behind Handel on this classical piece of history. I have to say it brought me smiles and warmed my heart.

    Thanks for sharing yours here, you just helped me relive a wonderful memory.

  2. Hi Dianna,

    I don’t have an MP3 player. Not sure what that is. We just got back from hearing our son, Tim, play Christmas music on the piano at a restaurant where he plays regularly (Weber’s in Ann Arbor) What a nice start to the Christmas season!

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

