Guilty Pleasures

Guilty pleasures are those things that we enjoy doing that we don’t want to admit.   Maybe they are not good for us.  Sometimes they are things that we are embarrassed to admit we do.  Most of us have a few of these, including me.

Pulp fiction, for me the monthly romance novel is a guilty pleasure I am somewhat embarrassed to admit.   Romance novels seem to carry a connotation of being less than other books.   The fact that these books are written in easy language in a predictable format, gets them less respect.  They are a favorite for me to relax and clear my mind when nothing else will do.   Yet these authors sell plenty of books, publish many titles and make a living at their craft.  Many of these authors also eventually write longer novels that eventually make the break into the NY Times best seller list.   How many of us are making a living at a craft we love?  Is it really a guilty pleasure.

Another guilty pleasure is tea with shortbread.   This is a combination of  financial extravagance (teas) and not being good for me (shortbread). I love tea, and have a vast collection of loose teas from different areas of the world; green tea, white tea, oolong, and blacks-Assam-Ceylon-Darjeeling. I love Chai, homemade not out of the carton.  I have developed a pallet that can often tell the difference in teas when my husband prepares a mystery cup for me.  I have a shelf in my kitchen cupboards just devoted to assorted loose leaf teas, strainers, pots, cozies, cups, and trays.  Though my stash of accessories is quite sufficient, I am always on the lookout for something that just screams to be added to my collection.   I love when my tea selection gets low and I can spend hours on my favorite tea shops online debating what I am going to buy next.   I love to make shortbread with real butter.   I am always on the look out for new recipes to try, that have that perfect combination of butter, melt in your mouth qualities and nuance of flavoring.

This is not all inclusive, but I have revealed to you two things I do,  I am not quick to admit, making them guilty pleasures.  What are yours?

One comment on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Thanks for leaving a comment on my Idiots Husbands blog about guilty pleasures.

    I’d planned to do a lot more on the topic but people where just too slow in coming forward with their own. Oh well…

    Hope your blogging goes well and your genealogy too.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

