Finally we go digital

After years of dragging our feet about getting a digital camera, we finally took the plunge.   When Kodak stopped making Kodachrome I knew the time to go digital had arrived.    We struggled because we had a huge investment in quality lenses and wanted to salvage as much of our existing equipment and investment as possible.  Lastly I didn’t want to spend a fortune on a new camera.    Saturday we took the plunge and got a digital SLR.  Today we took a Sunday afternoon drive to try our new camera.    I played with some of the settings and tried to figure out how I could get my digital camera to replicate the techniques I liked in my print camera.

I struggled to find how to set my aperture.   No more ring on the lenses.  Setting the shutter was no longer a dial I could easily find.  I figured out how to set the self-timer so we could get in the pictures, but it took me forever to figure out how to turn it off.   I am sure months from now I will really like my new DSLR, but until I find where all my old setting are and how to adjust them I am going to miss my old print film camera.

Here is a photo of a lupine I took today with a very shallow depth of field.   There were thousands of them in the mountains today.

One comment on “Finally we go digital

  1. Awesome photo!! I put my old Cannon in the garage sale and got no takers, so it goes to Goodwill. Crazy how much we spend in technology only to have it be virtually worthless in a few short years!!! 😦

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

