At Least One Rooster in the Bunch

My Current Barred Rock

I have been carefully watching my new chicks trying to figure out if I got what I wanted.  Rock Star, my current Barred Rock, is 3 years old had been a great layer and pleasant bird.  She was the reason I decided to try the breed again.

I got my chicks four weeks ago and my new Barred Rock, Spot,  is starting to give me some grief.   She was bought at the local farm store from a tank marked pullets (girls).    As I watch my chicks grow I have become increasing convinced Spot may be a rooster.   Now mind you  at 4 weeks old I am still guessing, and there are several indicators that this chick is a male.

Things that make me think Spot is a male:  Long, thick legs,  some red on the waddle, aggressive personality, and just plain size.

Things that make me think Spot might be female:  Her comb is still pretty yellow and her feathering is more black with white a female trait as opposed to white with black.

Yet the feather color still says female.    I am keeping my fingers cross that my hunch is wrong and it is a female as a Barred Rock is a nice looking bird and a good layer.

One comment on “At Least One Rooster in the Bunch

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

