Is Your Glass Half Full or Half Empty?

Several folks who’s blog I have read lately talked about their glass being half empty.  It got me thinking about my outlook.  Am I Pollyanna or do I walk around with a cloud over my head?   Is my glass half full or half empty?

I don’t have a glass.  I gave it up years ago when I listened to Jack Canfield, at Career Track long before his Chicken Soup fame, and he said you can’t control anyone or anything  but you can control how you react. What this means to me is that I can only control my own emotions and reactions.   Sometimes it is hard, but its really does make life better for me.  I don’t waste too much energy on negative unproductive emotions.

So when I see a glass, I first want to know if it is mine.  If it is not mine, I have no control except how I react.  Most of the time I just let it go, no second thoughts, not worth my time.   occasionally I do wish the glass was mine, and then I get a little snippy as I send it on its way.  Don’t let the door hit your a** on the way out of my mind.

If the glass is mine, I first think do I care or do I want it?  If not I promptly give it away.  I value my time.   If it is mine because it must be mine i.e work, I either embrace and enjoy the drink or I hold my nose and promptly swallow it.   It is only those glasses that are mine, that I care about that I spend my time, do I put my energy and my soul into.

One comment on “Is Your Glass Half Full or Half Empty?

  1. Wow, a good way of approaching life- is it my glass or is it someone else’s? If it isn’t my glass, who gives a flip. I think I have trouble deciding if it is my glass or not! Anyway, good post.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

