Not an Ordinary Dog

Harley and Fluffy

Everyone thinks that their dog is special, and I am no different.  Our dog, Harley,  happily coexists with my backyard flock.   This is pretty amazing considering that he is a Cairn and should be fascinated with vermin, squirrels, chipmunks, mice and the like.   I don’t think that hens darting around the yard is much of a leap of instinct, but somehow he has managed to understand my ladies are off-limits.    This is even more of an amazing feat when you realize that Harley did not grow up with chickens or me.   We adopted him at about age four from a local shelter, and it was immediately obvious to us he was a townie.   Yet in just six months he has settled into the country life.  He is no ordinary dog.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

