Chickens are Like Trees

Fuzzy on an egg laying hiatus

It is autumn and the shorter days have cause the trees in my yard to loose their leaves.   Those shorter days also caused my chickens to lay fewer eggs and it will get worse before it gets better.  

The number of hours of sunshine directyly affect chickens and how many eggs they will lay.   In commercial egg operations chickens are kept in artificially lighted areas to fool their bodies into laying eggs consistently year round.  In reality chicken’s bodies take a break from laying when the days get shorter.  For some poultry  breeds the light is less of and issue and the break is much shorter, but by nature all chickens take a rest.

My blue-green egg layer, Fuzzy, decided about a week ago she was done for the season.  I miss her fun colored eggs, but am thankful the rest of my flock so far haven’t given in to the season.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

