Perfect Waffles

Waffles have always been one of my husband’s favorite breakfasts.  On the other hand I can think of nothing worse for breakfast than a dense, heavy waffle.  Folks and restaurants say that Belgian waffles are lighter, but all the Belgian waffles I ever tasted were regular waffles made in a different waffle iron with bigger squares.  Bigger squares don’t make your waffles lighter, it just makes bigger holes for the syrup or whatever you put on your waffles. 

 This all changed when I read a magazine  article on “True” Belgian waffles vs. American waffles. According to this source if you don’t have yeast in your waffle, they are regular waffles no matter what kind of iron you make them in.  I wasn’t sure about the yeast, but I was sure the author was right about the second part, the iron will not make a  crummy waffle better. I was intrigued.  I read on.  Belgian waffles were not a quick breakfast.  The yeast had to work.  All of this meant you needed to get up early, or make your batter the night before and let it raise in the refrigerator overnight. 

Intrigued or not all of this sounded like a lot of work for something I was not sure was going to be really any better than the waffles I had experienced up until  then.  This recipe was so different, lots of work or not I had to try it.  It was defining moment for me in the food world.  I like true Belgian waffles.  I like then allot!  Here is my recipe, credit goes to Cooking Club of America for this one.

Belgian Waffles

1 c. warm water (110-115degrees)
1 pkg yeast
3 eggs, room temperature
1 c. warm whole milk
2/3 c. sugar
1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
3 c. flour (I use 2c. white, and 1c. whole wheat – American needs the whole grains)

  • place 1/2 cup of the warm water in a small bowl and sprinkle with yeast.  Let stand 10 minutes until foamy.  This tells you that the yeast is working
  • in a large bowl whisk eggs until blended.  Stir in the sugar, the remaining 1/2 cup of warm water, milk, butter, vanilla and salt.  Add the foamy yeast and mix well.
  • slowly add the flour to the egg mixture. Beat until smooth.
  • let rise until double in size. Choice: cover with plastic wrap and towel and let sit one hour, cover and put in the refrigerator overnight.
  • bake in waffle pan until golden brown and crisp. 

Note: These waffles raise more than American waffles you may be used too, so don’t overfill your waffle iron.

Yield: 1 dozen 4 inch waffles.

One comment on “Perfect Waffles

  1. Sounds like allot of work to me. Just give me some bisquick and I’ll go from there and lots of Mrs. Butterworth maple syrup.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

