One Week and Counting

I am in my last week of training for walking my 1st half-marathon. It has been a long hard journey.

I used a training schedule that I found online. It is a great schedule for folks undertaking their first half-marathon and folks who don’t have a lot of time.  It has been a great one for me.   It is easy to adhere to and yet there is always progress being made.

Today I think I hit the wall.  I got blisters on the top of my toes from my shoes, my underwear didn’t sit right for my training walk, and my updated music just didn’t work.   I was crush and frustrated.   One week to go and this was happening to me now.   Melancholy set in and I wanted to sit down beside the road and throw a good hissy fit and “cry me a river.”

I know I won’t quit, but at this moment I am so disappointed and frustrated as it seems quitting would just be the easiest way to deal with all of this.    I cut my training walk short today as really don’t want monster blisters this last week.  Think there is some mind relaxing yoga calling my name and tomorrow is another day in the count down to that first half-marathon.  Wish me luck.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

