Open Air Concert

Today I attended my own personal open air concert. Not at the awesome outdoor amphitheater at Red Rocks, but right here in Buxton, Montana.   We are talking the outdoor equivalent of a car concert.

Yes, I was singing out loud as I walked down the road today training for my half-marathon.   Keep in mind that I can’t carry a tune to save my soul.  

I have been going through my old music library and loading up my MP3 player with what I think will be great music to carry me through 13.1 miles.   I remember this album or that one and go looking for it in our collection, though it is now on CD to add to my play list.   

I  am also doing the equivalent of buying 45’s.  I have not  done that since I was in junior high school, and Faye Rick and I would go to the local Ben Franklin and get that one song we had to have. We stacked our 45’s on a “record holder” and took them to each other’s house to listen to them on the stereo.  That record holder could be considered an early 70’s iPod.   Today I am going to Amazon and buying those songs that I don’t have in my collection, that I have now decided are part of the  essential collection.  Most of them are favorite songs from my friends record collections that I never got around to buying for myself, a few are modern songs I have heard and thought yes they still make music.

Every day I come home from my walk and delete a song here and there, move this one to the end of hour one, two, three, or four (I don’t plan on needing hour five!).   I find self thinking that this song should be in hour 4 as it is “ass-kicking” and I will need that about then to finish this great adventure.    I am getting this all fine tuned. 

But in the meantime if you see a large woman walking down the frontage road looking like she is talking to herself.   It is me having a personal outdoor concert and I am singing out loud and enjoying every minute of it.

I'd love it if you let me know what you thought of this post.

